The popular messaging app ‘WhatsApp’ for iPhone received an update that introduces numerous effective features for users. The modified lot includes increased the WhatsApp photo and video sharing limit to 30 at one go, a redesigned and more useful Storage Usage screen, and the ability to queue messages - a feature that has been available on Android for quite some time now.
Now available for download to all iPhone users (running iOS 7 or higher), the latest WhatsApp version 2.17.1 have update size of just 91.2MB. The makers also recommend user to update under a strong Wi-Fi connection and good battery life. With this new update, one can just send a WhatsApp message to a group/individual even when connectivity is unavailable, and the message will be sent automatically once you get connectivity on your iPhone. This WhatsApp feature has been available for Android users for quite some time, and has finally arrived for iPhone users with this update.
Meanwhile, it is ascertained that the WhatsApp's Storage Usage screen is a handy tool to see which individual/group chat is hoarding the most storage space, and to delete the content of that chat in order to make room during storage constraints. Earlier, the Storage Usage screen only let you see the WhatsApp groups/ chat that used up most space, and then you had to go back to the chat window to clear specific chats. But now, it lets you clear messages right from the Storage Usage screen itself. Furthermore, WhatsApp also activated a feature that lets its user to choose message types, like videos, text, images, GIFs, voice messages etc from specific chats, to delete exactly what they want and keep the rest. To use this feature head to Settings -> Data and Storage Usage -> Storage Usage on your iPhone and clear all the unwanted space-hoarding files easily.
Well, the company is also working on bringing the ability to allow users to revoke or edit messages that have already been sent to other contacts. The all new feature is available in WhatsApp's iPhone beta version and is said to be disabled by default, meaning that user will have to turn it on manually.