Google precisely stores all the records of the web, app, and location history unless you clear it manually. Although there have been ways to opt out of this, users might miss out on many of the personalization features Google offers. Hence, they were left with the painstaking option of deleting those records manually.
Keeping all this in mind, Google made an announcement that users can now automatically delete their location history and web and app activity after a set duration of time. The search engine company gives users the liberty to set time limit which can be either 3 or 18 months. Any data older than the set time limit will be auto-cleared. This way, users will still get recommendations, but they can have certain control over how long Google can store these data.
However, the recommendations might not be that precise as they will be based only on the most recent data that it holds.
Google confirms that it is rolling out this new feature worldwide very soon. In addition to the new option to set the time limit, the existing option will also be available where users can keep the data history until they delete it manually.
Right now, the auto-delete feature is present only for web and app activity, and location history. There are still few other types of data not included like voice and audio activity, YouTube search history, etc.