Google has made an announcement that users won’t be able to synch Google Photos with Google drive soon. The company has made the decision to disconnect Photos from the drive in order to make the process simpler asthe majority of the users have found it confusing to mix both the services.
People familiar with the matter said in a blog post- “We’ve heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we’re making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos.”
As per the blog post, the new changes in the features will be effective from next month globally; separating the two services. Once the changes take place, photos and videos saved in the Google Drive won’t be automatically copied to Google Photos, hence, vice versa.
Users won’t find it difficult to delete any files as there will be no synchronization between the two services. Most importantly, if any photo gets deleted from Google Photos then the same pic won’t be removed from the Drive account.
Users will find an “upload from Drive” button in Google Photos after the new changes. Photos and videos can be copied from Drive to Photos but users will end up having two versions of the same file. It also means that files would consume more space if the copied items are original quality as only high-quality pictures do not count against storage space.
The new move by Google will help users to run their Google Photos and Google Drive accounts more seamlessly; when it comes to storing photos and videos.