× Business
TelecomHealthcareDigital MarketingERPRetailMedia and EntertainmentOil and GasFood and BeveragesMarketing and AdvertisingBanking and InsuranceMetals and MiningLegalComplianceCryptocurrency
Technology
Big DataCloudIT ServiceSoftwareMobileSecurityNetworkingStorageCyber SecuritySAPData AnalysisloTBio TechQuality AssuranceEducationE-commerceGaming and VFXArtificial Intelligence
Platform
Cisco DATABASE Google IBM Juniper Microsoft M2M Oracle Red hat Saas SYMANTEC
Leadership
CEO ReviewCMO ReviewCFO ReviewCompany Review
Magazines
US ASIA ARCHIVE
Startups Opinion Yearbook Readers Speak Contact Us

Malicious Message Crashing Sony PlayStation 4’s Consoles

siliconreview Malicious Message Crashing Sony PlayStation 4’s Consoles

Previously, we have heard about a certain message or strange character wreaking havoc and causing unstable behavior on Apple’s iPhones, and now quite a similar issue has hit Sony’s PlayStation 4.

A specially-crafted, malicious message is attacking numerous PS4 consoles. Thousands of PS4 owners on Reddit and across social media are posting about this issue stating that this malicious message contains a string of characters that can brick and crash PS4 consoles. The users have also stated that the only way to get rid of this nasty bug is to factory reset the console.

If the reports turned out to be true, the Japanese electronics company will likely act quickly on this. After all, Sony loves its users and loves improving their experience with its products.

A Reddit user, Huntstark posted to a PlayStation 4 subreddit: "There is a new glitch that bricks your console and forces you to factory reset it. Even deleting the message from the mobile app doesn't work. It happened to me during Rainbow Six: Siege. A player from the other team used a dummy account and senta message and crashed my entire team and we all had to factory reset our consoles. Only one of our guys wasn't affected and he has his messages private.”

As per Huntstark, users need to set their messages to private if they don’t want to become one of the victims of this nasty bug. And to do that setting, all you need to do is head to Settings option and change the Messages option to Friends Only or No One.This can also be done using the mobile app.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE::

ENROLL FOR UPCOMING ISSUE