× Business
TelecomHealthcareDigital MarketingERPRetailMedia and EntertainmentOil and GasFood and BeveragesMarketing and AdvertisingBanking and Insurance
Big DataCloudIT ServiceSoftwareMobileSecurityNetworkingStorageCyber SecuritySAPData AnalysisloTBio Tech
Cisco DATABASE Google IBM Juniper Microsoft M2M Oracle Red hat Saas SYMANTEC
CEO ReviewCMO ReviewCFO ReviewCompany Review
Startups Opinion Yearbook Readers Speak Contact Us

Very soon WhatsApp will let you spy on your friends

siliconreview Very soon WhatsApp will let you spy on your friends

Popular messaging app WhatsApp is now testing a new live-location sharing feature on beta apps for iOS and Android. In other features, the service might include the ability to edit and recall messages, which have been delivered, but not read by the recipient.

According to Twitter user @WABetaInfo, a live location feature that tracks the real-time location of other group participants is currently available on Android 2.16.399 and iOS on beta versions. However, it is disabled by default. It can be activated by going to the group Settings option on the top right and the option named ‘Show my friends’ will be visible. It can be turned on and off according to your preference.

With this following feature, all the users in one group will now be able to share their live-location with other members of the group. This feature can be kept on for 1 minute, 2 minutes, 5 minutes and indefinitely.  This however may raise many privacy concerns but surely this feature will prove to be useful in situations where you need to know the exact location of a member. While the users may also get two new features, namely Recall and Edit. With the Recall feature, they will be able to recall a sent message, as long as it is not read.

Well, the app already collected lot of laurels a few months ago for introducing video calling feature to everyone. To use this feature, users can press the call button on the top right corner in a chat which will bring up two options: voice call or video call. To place a video call, simply click on the option from the screen. Users also have the option to simply switch between the rear and front camera, mute conversations and disconnect the call as well.